The Galesburg Board of Election Commissioners

Our mission is to serve the public by conducting impartial, open and honest elections and to maintain a system of permanent registration of voters as dictated by Illinois and Federal laws.
The Galesburg Board of Election Commissioners is responsible for election operations within the city limits of Galesburg, IL. The commission was established in 1908 by a vote of the citizens of Galesburg in order to provide an accurate and unbiased election as well as to maintain an accurate and up-to-date list of registered voters. The voters transferred the control of the electoral franchise from elected officials to independent election professionals.
By statute, the election commission is run under the auspices of a bi-partisan commission consisting of three persons. Presently they are  Roger L. Williamson, Chairman, Terry L. Hudson, Vice Chairman and Veronica A. Peoples, Secretary.  
The independent Board of Election Commissioners whose members can be neither elected officials nor participate in political campaigns serves as an extension of the Judicial branch of the government - the same branch of government already involved in deciding other election matters, such as candidate access to the ballot and election recounts. The commissioners are appointed by the Circuit Court and serve a three year term. The terms are staggered with one commissioner up for re-appointment each year.
The commission through its executive director, Lisa M. Watson, and assistant executive director, Elizabeth L. Lester, oversees:
  • recruiting and training of election judges
  • training and certification of deputy registrars
  • voter registration
  • district re-mapping
  • precinct re-districting
  • maintaining and safeguarding records including signature cards and ballots
  • election operations
view more

Local Events


October 2015
01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

Lisa M. Watson, Executive Director

55 W. Tompkins Street
Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone: 309/345-3660
Fax: 309/345-5706

Hours of Operation

8 a.m. - 5 p.m. weekdays
with extended hours eight weeks before each election and election day.

On June 1, 2015, Lombard Middle School 7th graders participated in the Amazing Zephyr Quest Scavenger Hunt.  The city election office was a stop so students could mock register & vote plus complete a crossword puzzle identifying their Mayor and seven Aldermen.  The students correctly identified each elected official without an error.


Join Our Mailing/Alert List
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter RSS
City of Galesburg; 55 W. Tompkins Street; Galesburg, IL 61402-1387|Phone: 309-343-4181|Directions|Contact Us|Intranet
©2015 City of Galesburg.|Web site design and development by|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions|Site Map